Armenia

Official Name
Republic of Armenia (RA), short: Armenia

The Capital
Yerevan city (community status)

Religion
Christian (Armenian Apostolic Church), the majority of the population profess to be Christian.

Religion
Christian (Armenian Apostolic Church), the majority of the population profess to be Christian


Geographic Information

The country is situated in western part of Asia, occupies the north-eastern part of Armenian plateau – between Caucasus and Nearest Asia (the inter-river territory between the middle flows of the rivers Kur and Araks)

Area
29743 km2 (similar to the Belgium’s and Albania’s territory sizes)

Average Altitude Above Sea Level
1800 m (76.5% of the republican territory is on the height of 1000-2500 m above sea level)

State border
In the North with Georgia,
In the East with Azerbaijan,
In the West and South-West with Turkey,
In the South with Iran

The greatest extend
from North-West to South-East comprises 360 km
from West to East 200 km

Earth lowest point
The underflow region of Debed river 375 m
Mountain, Plateaux 36.4 % (in the Republic of Armenia)

The highest elevation
Peak of Aragats mountain 4090 m

The high mountaintops
Kaputdjugh 3906 m
Azhdahak 3598 m
Spitakasar 3555 m
Vardenis 3522 m

Water reserves
Annually comprise totally 8.5 bln. m3, of which 6.54 bln. m3 – surface water flow

The longest rivers (in the Republic of Armenia)
Araks 158 km
Akhuryan 186 km
Vorotan 111 km
Debed 154 km
Hrazdan 141 km
Aghstev 81 km

Lakes
Sevan (as of 31.12.2010) surface 1270.8 km2 (28 rivers and small rivers flow in Lake Sevan, only Hrazdan river originates from the lake) the height above sea level 1899.90 m,

Arpi surface 22.0 km2, the height above sea level 2021 m,

Sev surface 2.0 km2, the height above sea level 2666 m,

Akna surface 0.80 km2, the height above sea level 3032 m.

Climate
Dry-land

About 15,000 historical and cultural monuments in Armenia make it a museum in the open air. Many tourists are invited to Armenia for the existence of early Christian monuments and traditions. Nature and natural attractions leave deep impressions.


Regions

The territory of the Republic of Armenia is composed of ten marzes (regions) and Yerevan city which is governed.

Aragatsotn Marz, Marz Center-Ashtarak,

URL: http://aragatsotn.mtad.am/
E-mail: aragatsotn@mta.gov.am

Ararat Marz, Marz Center-Artashat,

URL: http://ararat.mtad.am/
E-mail: ararat@mta.gov.am

Armavir Marz, Marz Center-Armavir,

URL: http://armavir.mtad.am/
E-mail: armavir@mta.gov.am

Gegharkunik Marz, Marz Center-Gavar,

URL: http://gegharkunik.mtad.am/
E-mail: gegharkunik@mta.gov.am

Kotayk Marz, Marz Center-Hrazdan,

URL: http://kotayk.mtad.am/
E-mail: kotayk@mta.gov.am; marzpet.kotayq@mta.gov.am

Lori Marz, Marz Center-Vanadzor,

URL: http://lori.mtad.am/
E-mail: lori@mta.gov.am

Shirak Marz, Marz Center-Gyumri,

URL: http://shirak.mtad.am/
E-mail: shirak@mta.gov.am

Syunik Marz, Marz Center-Kapan,

URL: http://syunik.mtad.am
E-mail: syunik@mta.gov.am

Tavush Marz, Marz Center-Ijevan,

URL: http://tavush.mtad.am/
E-mail: tavush@mta.gov.am

Vayotz Dzor Marz, Marz Center-Yeghegnadzor,